Music in movies – The Breakfast Club

MV5BMzYyNTQ1Nzk2M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODk0NTQyMQ@@__V1_SX214_

The Breakfast Club is one of those movies that occupies a special place in my heart. I’m pretty much the same age as the characters in the movie, although the actors are all 5-10 years older than me. John Hughes directed many of his films in the greater Chicago area (where I grew up). The high school that I went to gave out ‘breakfast clubs’ as punishment, but they were early morning detention during the week, not on the weekend as portrayed in the film. I feel like this film could have been about people I knew. Those who know me would easily be able to guess which of the five stereotypes I matched in high school 🙂

So I was looking forward to re-watching this movie. I didn’t remember much about the music apart from the iconic song used during the opening and closing credits: “Don’t You (Forget About Me)” by Simple Minds. Whenever I hear that song, it instantly takes me back to that point in time.

There’s a reason that I didn’t remember any other songs from the movie – because they are pretty forgettable. There are some instrumentals that provide the backdrop to a few of the film’s montage scenes, but none of them did anything for me. But the movie is strong enough that it doesn’t need a lot of music to support it. Besides, the opening and closing credits carry the musical responsibilities for the whole movie (if not for the whole decade of the 80’s).

Ratings

Movie: 3.5/4 stars

Music: 2.5/4 stars

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment