Music in movies – Hear My Train a Comin’

515IlZG8UDL__SY300_

Hear My Train a Comin’ is a run-of-the-mill PBS documentary. The usual suspects from Jimi’s life are interviewed and cut together with concert footage, most of which you’ve seen before. I didn’t learn anything new about Jimi, his life, or his music by watching this documentary. Of course the music is good, but that goes without saying.

If I had only seen this biography, I feel like I’d have a somewhat skewed and myopic view of his life. There was very little talk of his drug use or death.

The one standout moment for me was in the studio. One of Jimi’s producers deconstructed a recording by soloing various tracks to expose the various pieces that contributed to the final puzzle. I would loved to have seen much more of this.

It’s hard to go wrong with the source material that they had available to them. The concert footage is, of course, amazing, if not new. The story of Jimi’s rise to fame and sudden death is hard to make boring. I just wish they had dug beneath the surface to give us something new.

Ratings

Movie: 2.5/4 stars

Music: 3.5/4 stars

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

